Choosing an actors headshot photographer

I recognise that sometimes it can be challenging researching actors headshot photographers online and trying to find the right one for you. There are so many factors to consider – the quality of their work, how much industry experience they have, and of course, what prices and packages are available to suit your budget? Headshots are a big investment for most actors and when searching online, you need to some reassurance that you will get the best results.

Testimonials can be a great insight into how different photographers work and what to expect during a headshot session. Nowadays, when we all do so much research online, I think it’s invaluable to be able to see other people’s first hand experiences when selecting a professional photographer.

Actors headshot testimonials and reviews

Over the last 10 years, I’ve been fortunate enough to work with a variety of different actors and I always treat each client on an individual basis, getting to know them and their requirements. I believe this important because I see the process of creating good headshots as a collaborative effort. I think the best results are always achieved when an actor feels comfortable in front of the camera and there is an element of trust between them and the photographer. Don’t just take my word for it though – here are some testimonials and reviews from some of the lovely actors I’ve worked with who have been kind enough to share their experiences:

 

Actors headshot - Senol Dervis by Alex Winn | London headshot photographer

Actor: Senol Dervis

28th March 2017

“What a pleasure to work with and to have my new headshots taken by Alex Winn. He is a total professional from start to finish. A great photographer. He explains everything clearly and makes you feel relaxed and helps you to feel your best through the shoot. The quality of Alex’s work is 100%+ Much appreciated and respect”

 

Actors headshot - Liam Wakeford by Alex Winn | London headshot photographer

Actor: Liam Wakeford

20th March 2017

“Made me feel at home. Loved that he got to know me to make sure he portrayed me well in my headshot, and to know how to get shots which will help with the direction I’d like to head towards. Great shots they are too.”

 

Actors headshot - Corinna Kay by Alex Winn | London headshot photographer

Actor: Corinna Kay

2nd February 2017

“An incredibly in depth, professional headshot session with an extremely talented and professional guy! From the word go, Alex made me feel instantly comfortable and welcomed, taking the time to get to know what I wanted to get out of the session. There was no pressure to ‘keep to the allocated time limit’, and Alex supplied lots of information and knowledge throughout, which was fantastic. I’m thrilled with the end results, the photos are amazing. I would absolutely recommend Alex to anyone looking to get headshots done.”

 

Actors headshot - Michael Brady by Alex Winn | London headshot photographer

Actor: Michael Brady

24th January 2017

“The time with Alex was incredibly well spent. We had a really in depth conversation about my intentions from the photo shoot, what I was wanting to capture in the headshots and how this would best be expressed through the lens. The outcome exceeded my expectations and I have headshots I am really pleased with and which capture the types of castings I go to. The cost of this was very reasonable and definitely excellent value for money. I feel my confidence as an actor has been raised as well as a result of Alex’s input and the quality of the headshots I now have. Many, many thanks Alex.”

 

Actors headshot - Ingrid Miller by Alex Winn | London headshot photographer

Actor: Ingrid Miller

17th January 2017

“Alex is a fantastic photographer and a really nice guy. He took time to explain everything thoroughly before the session so that we could get the best out of the shoot. Allowing me to look at the photos during the shoot was also really useful. I would highly recommend Alex to anyone considering getting new headshots. I only wish I’d gone to him sooner!”

 

Actors headshot - Neil Sinclair by Alex Winn | London headshot photographer

Actor: Neil Sinclair

1st November 2016

“Great shots, and a wonderful experience. I cannot recommend Alex enough.”

 

Actors headshot - Liivika Hanstin by Alex Winn | London headshot photographer

Actor: Liivika Hanstin

23rd May 2016

“It was absolutely wonderful to work with Alex. I’m more than happy with the outcome. However, that couldn’t be possible without Alex’s insightful tips, professional guidance and advice. The whole process was relaxed, unrestrained, very professional – I’m grateful for all the tips and suggestions. And of course for the great pics! Highly recommended photographer.”

 

Actors headshot - Giten Patel by Alex Winn | London headshot photographer

Actor: Giten Patel

12th April 2016

“Excellent headshots and all round great experience. Alex made me feel very comfortable, explained everything thoroughly and really went the extra mile to ensure we capture the best shots possible. He treats the session as a personal one to one and not a conveyor belt like session.”

 
Actors headshot - Iain Batchelor by Alex Winn | London headshot photographer

Actor: Iain Batchelor

12th April 2016

“A very talented photographer, Alex is situated in an amazing location in Trinity Buoy Wharf. The sessions are always a great laugh and never fail to produce high quality pictures. Also, great coffee!”

 
Actors headshot - Robin Varley by Alex Winn | London headshot photographer

Actor: Robin Varley

24th December 2015

“Alex guided me through a two hour photo shoot with total focus and professionalism, theres nothing I can say that quite explains how pleased I am with the results. Using a combination of well honed methods Alex ensured that I had all the necessary elements required to create what I can only describe as the best set of photo’s I now have to my name. I won’t hesitate to use Alex again in the future, nor should anyone reading this review.”

 

Actors headshot - Neil Gardner by Alex Winn | London headshot photographer

Actor: Neil Gardner

22nd October 2015

“I didn’t know what to expect from my first headshot session, but Alex was very professional, and put me at ease from the start. You find the shots together rather than a textbook ‘this is now your headshot’, and I found that part of his work method highly rewarding and encouraging. He is focused on getting the best results out of you in a friendly but industry focused way. I would highly recommend him for anybody in need of headshots.”

 

Actors headshot - Jack Tutt by Alex Winn | London headshot photographer

Actor: Jack Tutt

11th October 2015

“A wonderfully friendly and professional chap! Alex Winn is not only a professional and highly skilled photography but an all round nice guy and incredibly calming for those who might be nervous or worried about having their photos taken. My headshot session with him was both enjoyable and professionally enlightening – he was also happy to answer any question that I had, both prior to my photography session and on the day! I was incredibly happy with the final result of my photos and would highly recommend him as a professional headshot photographer, someone who caters to your needs and what you would like to see but also knows when and what advice to give where relevant. A top guy and incredibly skilled behind the camera! London actors – check him out!”

 
Actors headshot - Gareth Isaacsson by Alex Winn | London headshot photographer

Actor: Gareth Isaacsson

30th September 2015

“I was very nervous about having my first set of headshots done but from the moment I walked into the studio Alex made me feel very comfortable and welcome. The whole session was great and the end product is fantastic. I have recommended Alex to everyone I know in the business and will continue to do so.”

 
Actors headshot - Claire Louisa Cummins by Alex Winn | London headshot photographer

Actor: Claire Louisa Cummins

28th September 2015

“One of the best photographers I’ve worked with, responded to any questions really quick, helped to prepare me and find my way to the studio. In the session Alex really took his time and helped me find the confidence and expressions to make the pictures exactly what I needed for my acting. 100% recommended!”

 

Actors headshot - Hannah Robinson by Alex Winn | London headshot photographer

Actor: Hannah Robinson

4th August 2015

“This was my first ever headshot session, and Alex took time to get to know a bit about where I was at and what I wanted for the shoot, as well as talking me through the process and helping me understand how to achieve a range of different looks. He was patient, friendly and professional, and put me in the driving seat throughout. Very reasonable rate, and easy and prompt to deal with. I’m thrilled with my headshots and would highly recommend him.”

 
Actors headshot - James Wintergrove by Alex Winn | London headshot photographer

Actor: James Wintergrove

5th July 2015

“Somehow has a perfect blend of casual and professional. His keen eye for photography and his vast knowledge on the subject allows you to feel at ease, comfortable and willing to experiment between shots. I’d highly recommend him to anyone.”

 

Actors headshot - Antonia Reed by Alex Winn | London headshot photographer

Actor: Antonia Reed

24th June 2015

“I would 100% recommend Alex Winn for anyone after a headshot – especially if you’re starting out as an actor or performer. Not only did Alex make me feel instantly at ease when I arrived, he was also very good at explaining why shots were taken in certain ways, how different poses, clothes etc. create different impressions. The ‘science behind the process’ really helped me when thinking about what kind of impression I want to make. He was also very patient and helpful when I was struggling to decide which pictures to have finalised. Go ahead and book him now, you won’t regret it!”

 

Actors headshot - Lia Kostinou by Alex Winn | London headshot photographer

Actor: Lia Kostinou

3rd May 2015

“I feel so happy and lucky that I chose Alex for my headshots. He is a real professional and above all he cares about his clients. Even after our session he was always replying on my emails and helped me to choose the right head shots for me according to my personality. I felt he knew me for years. For every photo he had a good reason why I should choose it or not. Of course, I could not decide since I loved each and every one of them. Alex makes the headshots look alive, he captures your best moment and I could only feel lucky that I had such a beautiful experience. ”

 

Actors headshot - Tim Frances by Alex Winn | London headshot photographer

Actor: Tim Frances

19th March 2015

“Best session of my career. Alex is a superb guide to getting the best out of the session so as to make it productive and enjoyable. His ideas complement yours. And the results are authentic and honest. Hugely recommend him.”

 

Actors headshot - Davie Fairbanks by Alex Winn | London headshot photographer

Actor: Davie Fairbanks

19th March 2015

“Alex is quite simply one of the best photographers I’ve ever had the pleasure of working with. Like many, I’m not comfortable looking down the lens of a camera, but from the second I walked through the door I received a warm and relaxed welcome and immediately felt at ease. We talked for a bit, mainly because I’m a chatterbox, but at no point did I feel that there was a rush or I was just another client. Alex was there for me and to give me what I needed. Even after the first few minutes I was already happy with the shots that had been taken and I relaxed even more knowing that I was in the right hands. I couldn’t be happier with results and would recommend Alex to anyone.”

 

Actors headshot - Steve Lorient by Alex Winn | London headshot photographer

Actor: Steve Lorient

10th March 2015

“Had a great experience with Alex. The session was both relaxed and very focused, producing fantastic results, he allows you to explore how you are in camera, getting the shots you want. I’d recommend him to any actor looking to get headshots.”

 

Actors headshot - Samuel Caseley by Alex Winn | London headshot photographer

Actor: Samuel Caseley

2nd February 2015

“I had a great time with Alex; he was friendly, relaxed and knew how to get the best out of me. I came out with a great range of shots and his office is next to a container city, which is ace. Definitely recommended.”

 

Actors headshot - Sara Benetiz by Alex Winn | London headshot photographer

Actor: Sara Benitez

16th December 2014

“Thoroughly enjoyed getting my headshots done by Alex. He made me feel comfortable while working with him during the shoot, and I absolutely love the end results! Would highly recommend :)”

 

Actors headshot - Dan Gaisford by Alex Winn | London headshot photographer

Actor: Dan Gaisford

7th December 2014

“I am so pleased I decided to go to Alex Winn for my latest set of actor headshots. Not only was Alex extremely welcoming and friendly, but his commitment to meeting my own particular headshot requirements was fantastic. With Alex’s helpful tips and regular reviewing of the shots throughout the session, I’ve ended up with an outstanding set of headshot photos. I would recommend him without hesitation.”

 

Actors headshot - Raha Rahbari by Alex Winn | London headshot photographer

Actor: Raha Rahbari

26th November 2014

“It was my first experience of taking headshots. Alex was really professional and friendly and take time to explain the process to me as well as taking few test shots for me to understand how my face looks in different angles which was very useful. It was a great experience with nice headshots as a result.”

 

Actors headshot - Kamara Bacchus by Alex Winn | London headshot photographer

Actor: Kamara Bacchus

4th November 2014

“My shoot with Alex was amazing. I am very impressed with my new headshots and would certainly recommend him to any other actors looking for a headshot photographer. He really worked hard to make sure that I got the images that I needed and my agent was very happy with them too. Overall the session was fantastic and I would definitely use Alex again!”

 

Actors headshot - David Alexander by Alex Winn | London headshot photographer

Actor: David Alexander

20th October 2014

“Alex was professional and at the same time very approachable. He made the shoot easy and fun and I am delighted with the results. I will definitely be recommending him to my friends for their headshots and will return to him myself in future. If you are looking for great quality shots at a very reasonable price, whether you are a first-timer or looking for a change, look no further.”

 

Actors headshot - Brad St Ledger by Alex Winn | London headshot photographer

Actor: Brad St Ledger

2nd October 2014

“Alex offers a professional and personalised service. He took the time to get to know me, what I wanted from the shoot, and the kind of roles I both tend to get cast in and am hoping to enjoy in the future. In doing so Alex created a relaxed environment and was able to take the kind of photos that capture the characters I’m aiming for. He talked me through the entire process, constantly ensuring that I was happy with our progress. I was entirely and the finished photos are of an outstanding quality. Alex was an absolute pleasure to work with and I would and will be happily recommending him to any actors looking for new head shots.”

 

Actors headshot - Danny Gibbons by Alex Winn | London headshot photographer

Actor: Danny Gibbons

3rd September 2014

“When i was on my way to my shoot with Alex i was filled with nerves and apprehension, despite being an actor, headshots were not my favourite thing in the world to do. The minute I walked in the door though my fears were extinguished. Alex approaches his work with such a laid back and friendly approach that its hard not to relax in his company. He turned the experience into a very pleasant one and dare I say I actually thoroughly enjoyed the shoot and we got some absolutely fantastic shots that I am more than happy with and completely value for money. I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend Alex to someone else and implore any serious performers out there needing some good shots, get them done and get them done right….use Alex Winn.”

 

Actors headshot - Maia Watkins by Alex Winn | London headshot photographer

Actor: Maia Watkins

17th March 2014

“Thank you so much. I really enjoyed the session and learnt a lot about getting the right shots. Felt very comfortable and had a lot of fun trying out different looks. The final images are great and I would definitely recommend you to actors. Thanks x”

 

Actors headshot - Sarah Buchan by Alex Winn | London headshot photographer

Actor: Sarah Buchan

28th February 2014

“Very friendly and professional photographer, dedicated to finding out exactly what you want from the experience and making sure you are comfortable and enjoying yourself. Recommend highly for a painless experience and great result!”

 

Actors headshot - Michael Addo by Alex Winn | London headshot photographer

Actor: Michael Addo

28th October 2013

“It was an absolute pleasure to work with Alex, from the minute I spoke to him on the phone I knew that he was very professional and felt confident that we would get some great images. In the studio there was constant communication and feedback between us. Even after the studio session Alex continued to offer me his advice as to which images to retouch and help in choosing images I am so happy with my new headshots and would recommend Alex to anyone looking to get some high quality images.”

 

Actors headshot - Chris Robinson by Alex Winn | London headshot photographer

Actor: Chris Robinson

25th October 2013

“Working with Alex was a real pleasure, unlike any headshot session I’ve had before I felt really in control and at ease. He really knows how to get the best out of his subjects and for the first time I really had fun doing a photo session. Really can’t recommend him highly enough.”

 

Actors headshot - Cornelia Casey by Alex Winn | London headshot photographer

Actor: Cornelia Casey

26th September 2013

“My photo session with Alex was great. He is very professional, approachable and prompt to respond to emails. He gives really good direction and willingly shares his insight of the industry with his clients. He has a great eye for detail and is dedicated to delivering a top quality result. My husband who is also an actor has now said he will be using him when his own photos been to be upgraded, having used two other photographers in the past. In an industry where some photographers are charging £450 per session, his prices are very reasonable. I am really happy with the final result of my headshots. They look so sharp.”

 

Actors headshot - Marc Zammit by Alex Winn | London headshot photographer

Actor: Marc Zammit

1st September 2013

“Alex is a very top bloke, he takes his time and effort to get you what you want and looking for from your photos. I would 100% come back when I need to renew them in the future. He’s skilled and talented and to top it off we got on really well like a house on fire. He takes his time and will do his best to bring out the best results for you.”

 
Actors headshot - Josh Jeffries by Alex Winn | London headshot photographer

Actor: Josh Jeffries

30th July 2013

“Being fairly new to the industry having only graduated a year ago, this point in my career is arguably the most important, so having a good headshot is crucial to the development of my career. This is my third headshot session in two years as previously I didn’t feel that they were as good as they can be, I can honestly say now that they are. I cant recommend Alex enough, the session was great, we sat and chatted about castings and the look I wanted to portray and he gave some very valuable advice, we put the tunes on and got to work. I felt very comfortable in front of the camera with him, and I couldn’t be happier with the result. If you need a new headshot, this is your man. Fact.”

 

Actors headshot - Anthony Genas by Alex Winn | London headshot photographer

Actor: Anthony Genas

25th June 2013

“Firstly Alex did a fantastic job of my headshots, but the way he structured the whole photography process was excellent. Every group of photos we took he reviewed and made suggestions, but Alex never guided or commanded the shoot he only gave advice to help the shots look better. In addition it never felt daunting, for the first half an hour we sat down and had a chat about backgrounds and what we have been up to which felt as though I wasn’t paying for Alex’s time I was just here to get a great collection of photographs no matter the time frame. The only hard bit was selecting the all the good photographs that Alex had taken. Would recommend to anyone and will be revisiting Alex again if I need anything photography related”

 

Actors headshot - Zara Dee Hannay by Alex Winn | London headshot photographer

Actor: Zara-Dee Hannay

17th June 2013

“Excellent headshot session and final photos couldn’t recommend higher. Takes time to get a range or different photos with helpful advice making the session relaxed and fun rather than a task. Retouched photos very fast service. If you want somebody who puts time and effort into getting the best out of the session then choose Alex!”

 

Actors headshot - Maria Eugenio by Alex Winn | London headshot photographer

Actor: Maria Eugenio

30th March 2013

“Excellent overall service! If you’re an actor wanting professional eye-catching headshots then Alex is your guy! You’ll get to sit down and have a chat first to make sure you both know you want to achieve from your session. You’ll get tips on how to move and position yourself as naturally as possible, along with some interesting facts about what makes a great photo! Not only does Alex make your session as comfortable and fun as possible, he also makes sure you’re happy with the shots that are being taken, giving you feedback along the way. I’d recommend Alex Winn to any actors out there wanting a photographer as passionate about their work as they are about acting!”

 

Actors headshot - Rose McPhilemy by Alex Winn | London headshot photographer

Actor: Rose McPhilemy

4th April 2013

“Alex was great to work with – professional, relaxed and fun. I chose to go with him because his shots are natural but striking, and because his sessions involve both indoor and outdoor shots which instantly gives you a lot of variety to choose from. Rather than overload you with too much to think about, he creates an atmosphere where you can relax and be yourself, which then comes out in the photos. He gives as much time as you need for this to happen, and is as keen as you are to get the best shots possible from the session! After the shoot he was extremely quick in creating shortlisted selections for my agent and I to choose from, and was happy to give advice in making the final decision. One of the best shots was taken in the snow, which meant individually removing a lot of snowflakes, a long process but Alex was very happy to do so! Would definitely recommend him to actors and performers of all ages and experiences.”

 
Actors headshot - JodyAnne Fletcher Richardson by Alex Winn | London headshot photographer

Actor: JodyAnne Fletcher Richardson

30th March 2013

“I would definitely recommend Alex to anyone looking to get new headshots done. His studio has a lovely relaxed yet professional vibe which allows you be really focused and in the right head space to achieve the best possible photos. Alex gave me gentle advice and guidance throughout which not only helped me keep relaxed and fresh but also made the session really enjoyable. I’m very pleased with the results and have had some fabulous feedback – thanks!”